Theory | Literature, Media, and Culture Faculty

Select a faculty member profile to view their scholarship and research interests.

Name Contact Specialties
Rebecca McWilliams Ojala Ballard Rebecca McWilliams Ojala Ballard
Assistant Professor
WMS 447
rebecca.ballard@fsu.edu
20th and 21st century American literature and culture, environmental humanities and ecocriticism, speculative fiction and science fiction film, American studies
Photograph of Celia Caputi by Cindy Miller Celia R. Caputi
Professor
WMS 422
celia.caputi@fsu.edu
Shakespeare/Early Modern Studies, Feminist Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, Virginia Woolf, Italian Studies
Leigh H. Edwards
Professor
WMS 439
ledwards@fsu.edu
20th- and 21st-century U.S. literature and popular culture; media studies including popular music, television, film, and new media; 19th-century U.S. literature and culture, digital humanities
Barry Faulk
Professor
WMS 219
bfaulk@fsu.edu
Music and Literature, Literary Theory, Victorian literature and culture, popular culture studies
S. E. Gontarski
Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor
WMS 430
sgontarski@fsu.edu
20th-century Irish studies, Modernism, performance theory, History of Text Technologies (HoTT) and Modern(ist) book history
Robin Truth Goodman
Professor
WMS 216
rgoodman@fsu.edu
Critical and Cultural Theory, Postcolonial literature and theory, feminism, cultural studies
Aaron Jaffe
Frances Cushing Ervin Professor
WMS 429
ajaffe@fsu.edu
Modernism; Modern and contemporary literature, culture, media
Meegan Kennedy
Associate Professor, Associate Chair Undergraduate Studies
WMS 431
meegan.kennedy@fsu.edu
Victorian literature and culture, the British novel, Victorian science and medicine, periodical studies, gender studies, literature and medicine
John Mac Kilgore
Associate Professor
WMS 324
jmkilgore@fsu.edu
Early American literature, 18th- and 19th-century US literature, American studies, critical theory and philosophy, literature and politics
Christina Parker-Flynn
Associate Professor
WMS 441
cparker@fsu.edu
Film theory and criticism; comparative literature; 19th-century literature and culture, with specialization in French; modernity studies; feminist/gender/sexuality studies; Hitchcock studies; adaptation theory
Alison Sperling
Assistant Professor
WMS 432
asperling@fsu.edu
20th and 21st century U.S. literature and culture, ecocriticism, feminist and queer theory, science fiction, the weird
Gary Taylor
Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor
WMS 112A
gtaylor@fsu.edu
Shakespeare, early modern drama, history of text technologies, history of the book, digital humanities, editorial theory and practice