Our Alumni & Their Accomplishments

Russ Franklin

Ph.D. 2000 - Russ is a Wallace Stegner and a Truman Capote fellow in fiction at Stanford University. His short stories have appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, Epoch, and Greensboro Review. He is a winner of the Quarterly West, novella competition. His short story "Night Flying" is anthologized in Air Fare: Stories, Poems and Essays on Flight.

Kim Garcia

M.A. 1996 - Kim Garcia is the author of The Brighter House, winner of The White Pine Press Poetry Prize 2015, DRONE, winner of the 2015 Backwaters Prize, Tales of the Sisters, winner of the 2015 Sow's Ear Chapbook Contest, and Madonna Magdalene, released by Turning Point Books in 2006. Her poems have appeared in Crab Orchard Review, Crazyhorse, Mississippi Review, Nimrod and Subtropics, and her work has been featured on The Writer’s Almanac. Recipient of the 2014 Lynda Hull Memorial Prize, an AWP Intro Writing Award, a Hambidge Fellowship and an Oregon Individual Artist Grant, Garcia teaches creative writing at Boston College.

Mya Guarnieri

M.F.A. - Mya Guarnieri is a journalist and writer whose reportage and commentary has appeared in dozens of publications including The New York Times, The Guardian, The Nation, Le Monde Diplomatique, Foreign Policy, The Boston Review, Al Jazeera English, The National, Outlook India, and Caravan. Her short stories have been published in Narrative and The Kenyon Review; her essays can be found in The Jewish Quarterly, Slate, and Roads & Kingdoms. Her first book, The Unchosen: non-Jews in the Jewish state, offers an intimate look at the lives of African asylum seekers and Southeast Asian migrant workers in Israel. It is forthcoming from Pluto Press.

Rebecca Hazelton

Ph.D. 2010 - Hazelton's first book, Fair Copy, won the Ohio State / The Journal prize and is forthcoming from Ohio State University Press. Her second book, Vow, is forthcoming from Cleveland State University Press. She was the 2011 winner of The Discover/Boston Review Prize, as well as a recipient of the Jay C. and Ruth Hall fellowship at the University Wisconsin-Madison in 2010-2011, and of a fellowship from Vermont Studio Centers. Hazelton's work has been published in The Southern Review, The Gettysburg Review, The Boston Review, and others.

Micah Dean Hicks

Ph.D. - Micah Dean Hicks is a Calvino Prize-winning author of fabulist fiction. His work has appeared in places like Witness, New Letters, Indiana Review, New Orleans Review, and Baltimore Review. His story collection, Electricity and Other Dreams, was recently published by New American Press and received a starred review from Publishers Weekly. He received his PhD at Florida State University, focusing on creative writing and fairy tales. Currently, he teaches creative writing at Arkansas Tech University.

Tom Hunley

Ph.D. 2003 - Tom is an assistant professor of English at Western Kentucky University and the director of Steel Toe Books (www.steeltoebooks.com). Since leaving FSU, he has had three poetry books published: The Tongue (Wind Publications 2004), Still, There's a Glimmer (WordTech Editions 2004), and My Life as a Minor Character (Pecan Grove Press 2005). His book of essays, Teaching Poetry Writing: A Five Canon Approach, forthcoming from Multilingual Matters LTD. 2007, has been excerpted in The Writer's Chronicle.

Adam Johnson

Ph.D. 2001 - Adam Johnson (born July 12, 1967) is a Pulitzer Prize winning American novelist and short story writer. He won the Pulitzer for his 2012 novel, The Orphan Master's Son. He is also a professor of English at Stanford University with a focus on creative writing. Johnson was born in South Dakota and raised in Arizona. He earned a BA in Journalism from Arizona State University in 1992; an MFA from the writing program at McNeese State University in 1996; and a PhD in English from Florida State University in 2000.

Stephen Graham Jones

Ph.D. 1998 - Stephen’s dissertation was his first novel, The Fast Red Road, followed by the books, All the Beautiful Sinners, The Bird is Gone, Bleed Into Me: A Book of Stories, Demon Theory and upcoming in 2008, the novel Ledfeather. His over ninety stories have appeared everywhere, from Writing Fiction to The Year's Best Fantasy & Horror. A past NEA Fellow, Texas Writers League Fellow, and winner of the Independent Publishers Award for Multicultural Fiction and the Texas Institute of Letters Award for Fiction, Stephen twice won a President's Book award when he was Associate Professor of English at Texas Tech University. He is currently a Professor of English at the University of Colorado-Boulder.

Jesse Lee Kercheval

BA 1983 - Poet, essayist, short story writer, and novelist, Jesse Lee Kercheval is the author of seven books, including Dog Angel, The Museum of Happiness, Space: A Memoir, and Building Fiction: How to Develop Plot and Structure. She teaches at the University of Wisconsin where she directs the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing.

Mary Larkin

Ph.D. 2006 - is the 2011 recipient of the Southern Indiana Review Mary C. Mohr Editors' Award for Fiction. Larkin is a graduate of the Creative Writing program, where she studied with Robert Olen Butler and Elizabeth Stuckey-French among others.

Her fiction has appeared in many journals, including Shenandoah, The Chattahoochee Review, The Nebraska Review, Cutthroat: A Journal of the Arts, Inkwell, and The New Purlieu Review. She is a Pushcart Nominee, a Writing Fellow of the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, the recipient of Hollins University's Andrew James Purdy Award as well as their AWP Intro Journals Award nominee, and was recently invited for a writing residency at Yaddo.