Our Alumni & Their Accomplishments

Alexa Doran

(PhD 2021, Poetry) is the author of DM Me, Mother Darling, winner of the May Sarton New Hampshire Poetry Prize.

Kelly Ann Jacobson

(PhD 2021, Fiction) is the author or editor of many published books, including her contest-winning chapbook An Inventory of Abandoned Things (Split/Lip Press) and her forthcoming young adult novel Tink and Wendy (Three Rooms Press).

Dorsey Craft Olbrich

(PhD 2021, Poetry) is the author of Plunder, winner of the May Sarton New Hampshire Poetry Prize, as well as the chapbook The Pirate Anne Bonny Dances the Tarantella.

Cody Smith

(PhD 2021, Poetry) is the author of Gulf (2019).

Kerry James Evans

(PhD 2019, Poetry) is the author of Bangalore (Copper Canyon), a Lannan Literary Selection.

Karen Tucker

(PhD 2019, Fiction) is the author of the novel Bewilderness (Catapult, 2021). Her short fiction appears in The Missouri Review, The Yale Review Online, Boulevard, and elsewhere.

Kaveh Akbar

(PhD 2018, Poetry) is the author of two poetry collections: Calling a Wolf a Wolf (Alice James/Penguin, 2017) and Pilgrim Bell (Graywolf, 2021). His poems appear in The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Paris Review, Best American Poetry, and elsewhere. In 2022, Penguin Classics will publish a new anthology edited by Kaveh titled The Penguin Book of Spiritual Verse: 100 Poets on the Divine. In 2020 Kaveh was named Poetry Editor of The Nation. Kaveh has been awarded Pushcart Prizes, a Civitella Ranieri Foundation Fellowship, and the Levis Reading Prize.

Dorothy Chan

(PhD 2018, Poetry) is the author of three poetry collections: Revenge of the Asian Woman (Diode Editions, 2019), Attack of the Fifty-Foot Centerfold (Spork Press, 2018), and the chapbook Chinatown Sonnets (New Delta Review, 2017). Her writing has been published in Poetry, The American Poetry Review, Academy of American Poets, and elsewhere. She co-founded Honey Literary, a BIPOC-focused literary journal, and is the current editor-in-chief.

Ösel Jessica Plante

(PhD 2018, Poetry) is the author of Waveland (Black Lawrence Press, 2020). Her fiction and poetry have appeared in Best New Poets 2017 & 2019 and in Best Small Fictions 2016. She is the winner of the 2018 Meridian Editors Prize in poetry.

Eric Schlich

(PhD 2018, Fiction) is the author of the story collection Quantum Convention, winner of the 2018 Katherine Anne Porter Prize (University of North Texas Press). His fiction has aired on Public Radio International’s Selected Shorts and appeared or is forthcoming in American Short Fiction, Crazyhorse, and Gulf Coast, among other journals.