Robert Olen Butler

Krafft Professor
WMS 411
Creative writing, fiction, screenwriting

ROBERT OLEN BUTLER, Professor, MA, University of Iowa (1969) specializes in fiction and screenwriting. He is the author of eighteen novels and six collections of short stories. In addition to a Pulitzer Prize in 1993 and two National Magazine Awards, he has received a Guggenheim Fellowship in fiction and an NEA grant, as well as the Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In 2013 he won the career-spanning F. Scott Fitzgerald Award for Outstanding Achievement in American Literature. He has also been a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. His stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Esquire, The Paris Review, The Sewanee Review, Best American Short Stories, New Stories from the South, and many other journals. Butler has published a volume of his lectures on the creative process, From Where You Dream, edited, with an introduction by Janet Burroway. The archive of his personal and professional papers resides at the Baenecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library of Yale University. He holds a distinguished Krafft Professorship at Florida State University.


  • Late City (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2021.
  • Paris in the Dark (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2018.
  • Perfume River (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2017.
  • The Empire of Night (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2015.
  • The Star of Istanbul (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2013.
  • The Hot Country (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2012.
  • A Small Hotel (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2011.
  • Weegee Stories (stories), Narrative Editions, 2010,
  • Hell (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2010.
  • Intercourse (stories), Chronicle Books, 2008.
  • Severance (stories), Chronicle Books, 2006.
  • From Where You Dream (non-fiction), Grove Atlantic, 2005.
  • Had a Good Time (stories), Grove Atlantic, 2004.
  • Fair Warning (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2002.
  • Mr. Spaceman (novel), Grove Atlantic, 2000.
  • The Deep Green Sea (novel), Henry Holt & Co., 1998.
  • Tabloid Dreams (stories), Henry Holt & Co., 1996.
  • They Whisper (novel), Henry Holt & Co., 1994.
  • A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (stories), Henry Holt & Co., 1992.
  • The Deuce (novel), Simon & Schuster, 1989.
  • Wabash (novel), Alfred A. Knopf, 1987.
  • On Distant Ground (novel), Alfred A. Knopf, 1985.
  • Countrymen of Bones (novel), Horizon Press, 1983.
  • Sun Dogs (novel), Horizon Press, 1982.
  • The Alleys of Eden (novel), Horizon Press, 1981.


  • F. Scott Fitzgerald Award for Outstanding Achievement in American Literature, 2013
  • National Magazine Award for Fiction, 2005
  • Paul Bowles Award for Fiction from Five Points, 2004
  • Virginia Faulkner Award for Excellence in Writing from The Prairie Schooner, 2004
  • National Magazine Award for Fiction, 2001.
  • The Lotos Club Award of Merit (previously given to Mark Twain, Fiorello Laguardia, et al.), 1996.
  • National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, 1994.
  • Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, 1993.
  • John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, 1993.
  • The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, 1993.
  • Finalist nominee for the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, 1993.
  • McNeese State University Distinguished Teacher Award, 1993.

Publications By This Author